Quilted Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend

It’s Friday again, so it must be time to be inspired by a little perfume sample. This week I got a sample of Boucheron’s Place Vedome- and I have to say, I really, really like the perfume.

Image

It reminds me of Jivago’s ’24 Karat Gold’ Eau de Parfum which I used to wear all the time
(but now it’s impossible to find).

So, not only was I excited to find a possible replacement for my beloved 24 Karat- I was also completely in love with the quilted diamond look on the Place Vendome bottle. It’s so textural- this little picture doesn’t do it justice.

Image

I knew that I wanted to recreate the quilted diamond look, but I didn’t know what medium I wanted to use or what kind of project I wanted to make.  I tried recreating the look on a piece of paper with a marker, but that wasn’t 3D enough.

I decided to try my hand at creating a quilted look for the first time. I was a little intimidated, but I thought, why not just give it a try?  On a small scale, what’s something small that would be good quilted?

I also was trying to do a project with only things I already have at home- no trips to the store for one thing ( which could easily turn into a mini-shopping spree) just to do this project. Luckily I had some craft batting and white fabric.  I thought the deal breaker was going to be not having any white thread- but I found some!

Image

I tried out the gold marker on the fabric and it worked well enough for me to go ahead.

Image

By now, I had figured out what I could make (that I would actually use too)-  A Diamond Sunglass Case!

I mapped out my diamond pattern and figured out where I would put my center gold diamond.  Then I started to sew. It was actually much easier than I thought it would be. I was basically just sewing straight lines over and over again.

Image

I did realize after my first line that I didn’t want to sew over the tape, so I took off the overlapping sections to only sew in one direction first, then when those lines were done, I removed that tape and put the alternate direction tape back on.

After I had my quilted section, I folded over a little channel for my drawstring and then sewed around the bottom and side to make the sunglasses pocket.

The glasses fit great! I used to carry them in a hard case sunglasses case, but it was pretty bulky and the hinge weakened, so they often fell out anyhow. Lately, I’ve just let them float around in my purse with everything else so I’m looking forward to having them protected again.

Image

After I finished I realized that this color scheme actually matches some of my current accessories – I have a (dirty, beat up) gold wallet and a gold-accented coin purse.  My blue purse also has gold polka dots on the inside

Image

All in all, I’m super excited about how well this project turned out- especially as a first time ”quilter” (I’m sure no real quilter would let me make that claim based on how simple this was to do).

Image

This might just be my new favorite project.. after all, Diamond’s are a girl’s best friend!

Thanks for checking in with me again this week! If you don’t already, follow me on Pinterest! I love pinning inspiration for future projects!

4 thoughts on “Quilted Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend

  1. I am getting so much ideas from your creativity! I’ve been desperately needing a new sleeping mask and I would use this little bag as a pencil holder accompanied by a tassel to hang on my backpack. I’m excited to get started now that I’m adjusted to school again!

    • oh! what a sweet comment! thank you! I’m always so inspired by others’ blogs so I do hope you (and other people) get inspired by what I do too. I’m looking forward to seeing your finished projects!

  2. Pingback: Quilt Art | bex beltran

Leave a comment